Congrats to Laura Roesler on becoming Oregon's first!

A place for participants to post their own, or other racing reports and information. These discussions are open to runners of ALL levels.

Moderators: Moderator, Global Moderator

Post Reply
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:42 pm

Congrats to Laura Roesler on becoming Oregon's first!

Post by Ron » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:57 am

Congrats to Laura Roesler on becoming Oregon's first female Bowerman winner!
RELEASE DATE: 12/17/2014

PHOENIX – Oregon track and field 800 meter NCAA Champion Laura Roesler was awarded collegiate track and field’s most prestigious honor, Wednesday, bringing home The Bowerman Trophy, awarded by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Roesler, who won 2014 NCAA titles in the 800 both indoors and outdoors and was a member of the collegiate record 4x400 relay team which clinched the Ducks’ fifth-straight indoor championship, beat out fellow finalists Sharika Nelvis (Arkansas State) and Courtney Okolo (Texas).

“It’s such an honor to be able to be up here alongside the other two finalists.” Roesler said. “I want to thank all the fans who voted and helped me win the fan vote. I especially want to thank the University of Oregon and all the coaches there.”

The Fargo, N.D., native is the first woman in Oregon history to win the award and the third overall, joining Olympic medalists Ashton Eaton and Galen Rupp. Roesler is the first female from the Pac-12 to win the award as well as the first athlete of either gender to win with the 800 as their primary event.

Track and field’s highest honor caps a historic career for the 2014 graduate, who left Oregon with 17 track and field All-America awards, the most in school history.

To watch the 2014 awards ceremony in its entirety, click here.

On the men’s side, Texas A&M’s Deon Lendore took home the trophy, beating out Oregon finalist Edward Cheserek.
Image is brought to you by: Xtreme Multimedia Marketing
A leader in AMP-HTML & Responsive Website Technologies

Post Reply